Skip to main content

The Industry needs your help!

Posted Bydawn

Music•Musique NB supports the initiative of the AAAPNB, ArtsLinkNB and Mawi'Art: Wabanaki Artist Collective and we encourage our members to send a letter to their elected officials, to ask for support to the arts and culture sector.

To email your MLA

(from ArtsLink NB)
Dear artist partners,

ArtsLink NB, the Association acadienne des artistes professionnel.le.s du Nouveau-Brunswick(AAAPNB), and Mawi'Art: Wabanaki Artist Collective are collectively lobbying the Government of New Brunswick to invest $12.5 million in the arts and cultural industries and promote essential recovery from the impact of the pandemic. As a professional artist, your voice is an important part of this effort. We invite you to contact your local MLA to share concerns that 1) the arts and culture sector is still being negatively impacted by the pandemic and 2) to encourage them to support reinvestment in this vital sector. 
Where we are:

  • In Canada, between August 2019 and August 2021 the arts, entertainment, and recreation industries suffered a decline of 41%, almost half of its gross domestic product (GDP) in Canada between August 2019 and August 2021.
  • In New Brunswick, the information, culture and recreation sector experienced a 29% decrease in employment due to the pandemic between October 2019 and October 2021. That represents 3 out of every 10 jobs in the sector lost in the wake of the pandemic.

We must continue to urge the Government of New Brunswick to recognize the significance of the arts and culture sector. In 2017, arts and cultural industries contributed $570 million to New Brunswick’s GDP. 7,482 jobs were directly related to cultural industries in the province at that time.

Over the last twelve months, several strategies have been identified via consultation within the sector. English and French editions of the report Act now for the survival of the arts and culture sector were presented to elected officials in early 2021. You can find this report at
Here is what you can do to complement the ongoing efforts of ArtsLink NB, AAAPNB, and Mawi'Art: Wabanaki Artist Collective: 

Talk to your MLA about the importance of arts and culture in New Brunswick and the sector’s significant contribution to the vitality of your community.
Send a message to the Minister of Finance and Treasury Board, Ernie Steeves: and to Premier Blaine Higgs:

Thank you for your valuable input and we wish you a healthy and active 2022.

Charlie Gaffney, président
Shawn Dalton, directrice générale
Mawi'Art: Wabanaki Artist Collective

Philippe Beaulieu, président
Carmen Gibbs, directrice générale
Association acadienne des artistes professionnel.le.s du Nouveau-Brunswick

Julie Scriver, présidente
Julie Whitenect, directrice générale
ArtsLink NB

To email your MLA

Daniel Allain, MLA for Moncton East
Richard Ames, MLA for Carleton - York
Andrea Anderson-Mason, Q.C., MLA for Fundy-The-Isles - Saint John West
Kevin Arseneau, MLA for Kent North
Guy Arseneault, MLA for Campbellton - Dalhousie
Kris Austin, MLA for Fredericton - Grand Lake
Kathy Bockus, MLA for Saint Croix
Benoît Bourque, MLA for Kent South
Dominic Cardy, MLA for Fredericton West - Hanwell
Jeff Carr, MLA for New Maryland - Sunbury
Chuck Chiasson, MLA for Victoria - La Vallée
Keith Chiasson, MLA for Tracadie-Sheila
Michelle Conroy, MLA for Miramichi
David Coon, MLA for Fredericton South
Gary Crossman, MLA for Hampton
Ryan Cullins, MLA for Fredericton - York
Jean-Claude D'Amours, MLA for Edmundston - Madawaska Centre
Arlene Dunn, MLA for Saint John Harbour
Bruce Fitch, MLA for Riverview
Hugh J.A. Flemming, Q.C., MLA for Rothesay
Robert Gauvin, MLA for Shediac Bay - Dieppe
Jill Green, MLA for Fredericton North
Daniel Guitard, MLA for Restigouche - Chaleur
Blaine Higgs, MLA for Quispamsis
Bill Hogan, MLA for Carleton
Trevor Holder, MLA for Portland - Simonds
Mike Holland, MLA for Albert
Margaret Johnson, MLA for Carleton - Victoria
Denis Landry, MLA for Bathurst East - Nepisiguit - Saint Isidore
Francine Landry, MLA for Madawaska Les lacs - Edmundston
Jacques LeBlanc, MLA for Shediac - Beaubassin - Cap-Pelé
René Legacy, MLA for Bathurst West - Beresford
Gilles LePage, MLA for Restigouche West
Eric Mallet, MLA for Shippagan - Lamêque - Miscou
Robert McKee, MLA for Moncton Centre
Roger Melanson, MLA for Dieppe
Megan Mitton, MLA for Memramcook - Tantramar
Bill Oliver, MLA for Kings Centre
Glen Savoie, MLA for Saint John - East
Tammy Scott-Wallace, MLA for Sussex - Fundy - St. Martins
Dorothy Shephard, MLA for Saint John Lancaster
Ernie Steeves, MLA for Moncton Northwest
Isabelle Thériault, MLA for Caraquet
Greg Turner, MLA for Moncton South
Ross Wetmore, MLA for Gagetown - Petitcodiac
Mary Wilson, MLA for Oromocto-Lincoln-Fredericton
Sherry Wilson, MLA for Moncton Southwest